Out with the old and in with the new: New appointees to the Rail Authority Board

Governor Schwarzenegger made several appointments to the California High Speed Rail Authority Board on the eve of his departure.
The Governor is allowed to appoint 5 of the 9 members of the Authority board, and none of those appointments require Senate confirmation. The Governor took action on three of the slots. According to the Governor’s press office, he left Lynn Schenk (whose term expired in 2004) and his special advisor David Crane in place and made the following changes:
Curt Pringle (term ending 12/31/2010)  – Reappointed
Vacancy created by Richard Katz’s resignation – Filled by Fresno developer and Schwarzenegger political donor (a $25,000 donation in 2009 to the “California Dream Team”) Thomas Richards
Rod Diridon (term ended 12/31/2009) – Replaced by Los Angeles Business Journal publisher Matt Toledo
Board members and details of their appointment

Governor Schwarzenegger’s veto message of a law that would have required Senate confirmation for gubernatorial appointments

Comments are closed.